Petals fall lightly off the branches

showering her dancing in pastel mist

she taps her feet to the lively singing of oriole

and splashes the petals

like fluttering wings of butterflies

It’s getting very warm these few days, very unlike the weather UK’s been “famous” for– the locals might love such rare sunshine, but for someone that grew up on a tiny island with sunshine all year round, I certainly prefer otherwise. I went for a walk to Fen Ditto yesterday, it was so hot as I strolled down the meadow without any shade, and yes for the very first time my stay here, I’m sunburned. Soon it’ll be May, soon it’ll be summer, does that mean spring is coming to an end? Alas, how abrupt spring seems to be: first there were the daffodils covering almost every corner of Cambridge; and then most unexpectedly, cherry trees in creamy white and blushing pink took center-stage; too bad beauty never seems to last, just within weeks, the soft pastel colours of flowering trees are replaced by monotonous green–the colour of summer. With daylight gradually dragging deep into the night, I’m beginning to miss the dark, gloomy and melancholic weather of winter and early spring. Everything just appears too bright, too cheerful, too bursting with energy. But I should give summer benefit of the doubt, before my return to my tiny island country during the coming summer vacation, I shall see what surprises the summer of Cambridge would bring.

第一次經過,粉紅的花蕊密密麻麻掛滿枝頭,恍若一團夢幻一般飽滿的棉花糖。她情不自禁,歡快地繞著樹跳著甜甜的土風舞。

第二次經過,棉花糖逐漸在風中化開,成了碎碎散散飄忽不定難以捉摸的昨日的夢。她略有感觸,在花雨中輕輕地舞了一支芭蕾。

再一次經過,枝頭已綠肥紅瘦,粉色的夢覆蓋一地猶如沒了重量厚厚的記憶。她卻俏皮地跳起踢踏舞,還原夢境風中翻飛的短暫絢麗。畢竟,她還是年少的。

