I’m trying to go back to basic, though I still can’t get myself to give up on my Warcom tablet :). I don’t fully subscribe to the saying that digital illustrations are insincere, it really depends on how one illustrates, and I for one, believe digital illustration could be made to look “organic”. In fact all my so-called digital illustrations were done free-hand with a pen working on a tablet. What I need to explore now is how to enhance the hand-rendered look/feel to my digital work. I’m not too sure if the above drawing appears digital to you? By adding light pencil shading, I hope to give it a more organic look. And don’t ask me what are the 2 animals I drew, I don’t have the answer myself!

其实波隆纳之行虽然波折重重,例如在海关被扣留问话,遇到无良德士司机把我胡乱丢在陌生地方,忘了时差结果第一天凡事都迟一个小时,旅店短程巴士“爽约”害我在冷风中挨饿苦等,但我相信上苍是公平的,例如在偌大会场,总能遇到世界各地同样怀抱希望的新朋友,彼此勉励相互协助。我就结识了来自东京独自前来说着一口流利法语的Mayumi真由美,我真的好佩服这些年轻朋友,可以为了梦想自掏腰包大老远飞来出席书展,这样的勇气这样的傻劲,让人动容。

除了结识新交,我还在不知名的街上,看到开满洁白花蕊的梨树,应该是梨花吧?因为印象中梨花如雪,我站在树下就一厢情愿认定就是梨树了。幸好是春天了,各种花树逐渐热闹绽放,让我看到希望。若是还在严冬,我肯定郁悒成疾。

