Back to one of the earlier spreads, the page on Tears and Hope. That’s the whole problem with me, or maybe it’s not a problem to be exact, but a working habit, I always plunge into doing the actual illustrations without finalising the storyboard. That’s why I never illustrate in sequence chronically, I keep jumping back and forth doing whatever pictures that come into mind first. For this spread, I’ve been putting it on hold for weeks, simply because I couldn’t think of a way to visually represent the idea of Tears and Hope. Anyway, I still believe the saying by Ajahn Brahm “Just do it”, don’t think too much, once I start drawing and revising and drawing and revising, more and more ideas just pop up. I know planning is important, but sometimes if we plan too much, we might just lost the crucial momentum when comes to the actual drawings. The picture shown here is not the finalised version.

一直都没有十分具体的想法如何去表现。本想画战地边陲的铁丝网,一个破烂的布娃娃在铁丝网上落寞垂泪,但觉得似乎与之前的图落差太大。跟着想画阴暗的垃圾堆,破烂的布娃娃遭遗弃,以往小主人的关爱化为乌有,但我又不想画面太幽暗。因为我打算用色彩来交代故事的进程:前面都是色彩缤纷的,魔笛手吹奏悦耳的笛韵,踏上多姿多彩的岁月之旅;而当他开始感觉孤单时,画面将以深蓝为主;最后他停止吹奏,内心出现挣扎,天地化为黑白。

